And they went nuts!

The Iron Bowl this year, depending on who you were rooting for, was an instant classic.

Some have even said it was the greatest and most improbable finish to a sporting event ever.

From the moment the game concluded, the home videos of fans reacting to the finish have come pouring across the Inter webs.

My personal favorite is the one above.

It is truly goofy how we humans look and act when we are genuinely surprised and thrilled beyond comprehension. I mean seriously – what is it about sports that makes us leap for joy and scream at the top of our lungs? Chris Davis

If I look back at some of the biggest moments of my lifetime, I don’t recall ever reacting that way.

Granted, when Jen said yes, when Abby and Blake were born, when I landed my first job – all of those moments were exciting, but I didn’t jump up and down in a screaming fit of emotion.

It got me thinking – aside from sports, is there a moment in the history of mankind that would elicit that same kind of unbridled emotion?

I’d put my money on a few from back in the day.

Like that moment when two disciples walked down the road to Emmaus and later realized that Jesus was actually walking with them, which meant – you know – He was alive!

Or that moment when Peter went running to the tomb and later marveled at the fact that Jesus was not in the tomb! 

Or even better – the moment Jesus appeared to the Disciples in the upper room despite the doors being locked. Bet ya anything it was probably similar to the moment Auburn fans realized Chris Davis had a shot of scoring.

And then the moment when Jesus showed the Disciples his wounds? Bet ya that was like Auburn fans realizing that there were no flags and that the game was indeed over.

Watch the video of the fans reactions and replace the emotion of an unexpected touchdown to win a football game with the emotion of the unexpected return of Jesus Christ.

If you do, I think you’ll respond the same way I did – with a hearty AMEN!

Later in scripture, we hear the story of Jesus’ ascension into heaven. 

Say what you want about the miracle of something like this happening, but for now – let’s just focus on the Disciples reaction.

We read about it in Luke’s gospel, Chapter 24, verses 46-53.

He told them, “This is what is written: The Christ will suffer and rise from the dead on the third day, and repentance and forgiveness of sins will be preached in his name to all nations, beginning at Jerusalem. You are witnesses of these things. I am going to send you what my Father has promised; but stay in the city until you have been clothed with power from on high.” When he had led them out to the vicinity of Bethany, he lifted up his hands and blessed them. While he was blessing them, he left them and was taken up into heaven. Then they worshiped him and returned to Jerusalem with great joy. And they stayed continually at the temple, praising God.

Stayed continually at the temple, praising God.

That’s so true, isn’t it?

What did Auburn fans do after the game?

They stayedcontinuallypraising.

Fans

There’s a part of me that wonders what the world would be like if we transferred the same amount of passion, energy and – quite frankly – dollars that we currently spend on our sporting passions into our relationship with God.

But that conversation is riddled with unknowns, judgements and dashed hopes.

For now, I just want to soak in the hope that – one day – I too will experience an Iron Bowl reaction to seeing Jesus.

 

 

 

2 responses to “And they went nuts!

Leave a comment